How I got AT&T to factory unlock my iPhone 4 for free

If you’re among one of the unlucky few that upgraded your iPhone 4 to iOS 5.1.1 without having the foresight to preserve your baseband and are now stuck with 04.12.01 Have no fear my friend for I have done the exact same thing and luckily found a viable solution. This method only work for US GSM iPhones on AT&T provided that your iPhone isn’t reported lost or stolen and its not currently under any contract.

After the update to iOS 5.1.1 was successful I realized that I cannot my activate my iPhone with my Tmobile sim card. My trusty gevy turbo sim does NOT work on baseband 04.12.01

I am now stucked on the activation screen without anyway get into the phone. So I frantically google for possible solutions. I read about the recent loktar_sun SAM unlock exploit, ultrasnow, and found many sites thatpromise to unlock any baseband on any ios version for a small fee of $29.99

Such as
downgradeiphone.com
iphone-unlocker-pro.com

I was too late to the party for the loktar_sun exploit, Apple had already patched it. I didn’t trust those websites that claim to do the impossible.

I found Scambook.com and sure enough one of those sites I found was on there.

http://www.scambook.com/company/reports/7256/DownGradeiPhone.com

All these sites are scams. Do not give them your hard earned $.

The one link that saved me was an article posted on OSXdaily.com

http://osxdaily.com/2012/04/21/unlock-iphone-att-web-technical-support/

I followed their instructions and got my iphone 4 unlocked for free without having to waste my $ on those scam sites. Instead of an expensive iPod I now have a fully factory unlocked phone that work with any SIM card anywhere in the world.

It took some leg work because you need to have a friend with an AT&T account that’s  willing to  let you use their account or better yet do it for you.

Once you have access to an AT&T account, per the instructions, you need to visit

https://www.att.com/olam/passthroughAction.myworld?actionType=tech#

  1. State that you would like to unlock an off contract iPhone and provide the iPhone IMEI number
  2. Let the AT&T representative check if the iPhone is indeed without a contract and give them an email address when asked

If everything checks out, the AT&T rep will provide you with a case number and an estimated date of completion for resolution.

I used iTools 2012 http://limelinx.com/files/e62bcc58b6d007b1cc516b894fba4817  to get the IMEI info. You can also retrieve this # if you have access to the phone by dialing *#06#


 

The process was simple enough. I connected to the chat and told the AT&T rep I needed to have my off contract iPhone unlocked. She asked for the IMEI # and after verifying that its not reported lost or stolen she agreed to unlock it for me.

The post unlock instructions  that she provided via email is a link to a PDF file explaining how to complete the unlock.

https://mycsp.cingular.com/mycsp/externalcontent/Static_Files/Attachment/Support/Wireless/iPhone_unlock_email_sample.pdf

Also available @ iPhone_unlock_email_sample

Once the unlock is complete you’ll see this message in iTunes.

You now have a fully unlocked iPhone. You can pull out your gevey SIM interposer and just use your modified Tmobile sim. Your iPhone should now recognize it without any problems.

Visit http://greenpois0n.com/ to download the latest version of absinthe and jailbreak your phone.

21 thoughts on “How I got AT&T to factory unlock my iPhone 4 for free

  1. Dear, nguyenhai
    My case is exact like yours, but unfortunattely I do not have a friend who can me lend me his at&t account for web chat. I tried calling them with skype, but they say its necessary to be at&t client. Can you give me a hand? Thx in advance.

    • I’m on the same boat too. I see people selling the factory unlock service on ebay, but it is very expensive. I appreciate if you can hook me up bro.

  2. I have a major problem with att, I use a guy`account to unlock my iPhone 6 times without luck and now that account been locked up so I can’t call att again, could you please try and help me out? Email me so I can provide an imei #. Thanks mate!

  3. Dear Nguyen Hai,
    Can you please be so kind to help me to unlock my iphone 4s as i do not have any account with AT&T?
    Sincerely,
    Thanh Nguyen

  4. I have fun with, cause I discovered exactly what I used to be looking for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  5. Use star decorations and even one of those cheesy hanging balls that spins on the dance floor.
    Hotels use green certification, either individually or as a group, to promote their services.
    All these courses present an exclusive combination of different opinion.

  6. This setting makes it impossible for you to use it witrh a different network, which can
    be quite a problem iif its default hhas limited coverage and outrageous rates.
    The safe decision is tto unlock your phone yourself.
    For this you have tto tap on the screen’s bottom corner and then
    you can quickly navigate or direct through
    your i – Phone 4.

  7. This setting makes itt impossible for you to use it with
    a different network, which can be quite a problem if its default has limited coverage and outrageous rates.
    There might be some matters to thhe loading time, some purposes will not perform, and
    quite a few others. This will make the other person feel really good aand create some interest in you.

  8. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll
    just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any suggestions for newbie blog
    writers? I’d genuinely appreciat it.

  9. I think everything said made a bunch of sense.
    However, what about this? what if you added a little information?
    I ain’t saying your information is not solid, however suppose you added a post title that makes people want more? I mean How I got AT&T to factory unlock my iPhone 4 for free | nguyenhai’s Blog is kinda vanilla. You could look at Yahoo’s home page and see how they write post headlines to grab viewers interested. You might add a related video or a picture or two to get readers excited about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it could make your posts a little livelier.

Leave a Reply

