Training Plan

I picked up a copy of Bryon Powell’s Relentless Forward Progress to gain some insights into training for my upcoming ultra in Vermont. True to its namesake this book is a gem for the ultra newbies. Spread within the book are essays from prominent ultra runners and their training philosophies.  I made some modifications to the 24 weeks 70 miles per week training plan for a 100 miler and keeping to the suggested mileage on weekends. The most important factor  is the Back to Back (B2B) long runs. Powell suggest a training regiment that slowly increase/maintain mileage in a 3 week period with 1 week recovery in between.

A 50 miler tune up race is also highly encourage to give the experience of experimenting with shoes, fueling and hydration. I will run the Bull Run Run 50 Miler on 4/14/2012 as my tune up race.

Last week I managed 54 miles and this week I put in 61. I got 1 more week of high mileage before I get a break in week 4. Next week the plan is to put in 40 miles on the weekend and enjoy the recovery week as it comes.

My training log https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AuWy61aD6B_adFJBUFluaFB2WkxyWkQ0SmtkTFkzenc#gid=7

by Bryon Powell

Relentless Forward Progress

Leave a Reply

