Frederick Marathon 2009 Race Report

My goal for this marathon was to get under 4 hours and 30 minutes.  That didnt happen. I’ve been training all winter since mid January to make up for my humbled experience with the Marines Corp Marathon in 2008.  I finished in 4:34:57 A LOT better than MCM but failed to meet my goal. The thing about setting goal is that if you exceed or meet your expectation its a great feeling but for those that couldn’t quite make it due to various reasons there’s a huge sense of burden. Dissapointment will always linger until they confront what happened. The easy thing to do would be to find excuses and blame it on factors that are outside of our control.  I didn’t have the drive and motivation to push myself . There’s no sense in beating myself up about it, I am already in too deep. I must train harder and smarter in preparation for the upcoming Baltimore marathon in October. 

Now that’s out of my system, let me just take a moment to mention the weather. IT RAINED!!! The first 2 miles was fine as there was a little drizzle and everyone welcomed the nice breeze. After mile 3 it started pouring, there was no sign of it slowing down. Everyone was completely drenched and it took extra effort to shuffle on in wet and heavy clothes. But as marathoners go, we’re somewhat masochistic so a little rain doesn’t really put anyone off. A lot can go wrong in 26.2 miles, rain is but another inconvenience that we have to put up with . If anything, it makes for better post race stories.  

This was my first experience with the Frederick course and I must say, it is HILLY. The rolling hills punished the unprepared, myself included, and reminded us why it was a bad decision not to do any hills workout during our training.  I had to walk some of the hills to save my calves from cramping and locking up.  Unlike MCM I didn’t experience any sort of cramps at all for the whole distance. The decision to forego water and stick to only gatorade at the water stops was a big influence. 

I met a lot of interesting people as I made my way around the course. The most interesting was “barefoot Todd” running his 250th marathon today. He was quite an inspiration and a witty conversationalist, as there were other runners asking how he does what he does ? to which he reply “You guys have jobs” this is mine. There was a brief moment of silence as everyone within earshot wonder what it would be like to live a day as Todd.  Another interesting character was a tall and big build gentleman that have calves the size of my thighs. These things were freakishly huge and everyone couldn’t help but look at them. He overheard us talking about them and looked back to remark  “Yea ya like it huh ?” I am not sure what it was about them but I just couldn’t look away. 

Overall it was a pleasant experience, I am a little dissapointed that I didn’t make my time but I WAS running with a callus on my right foot  <—- excuse  🙂 

Frederick Marathon 2009 Results

Frederick Marathon 2009 Official Results

 

Me at the Frederick Fairground

Me at the Frederick Fairground

4 thoughts on “Frederick Marathon 2009 Race Report

  1. HEY!!! That is so funny. You were running RIGHT next to me and my running coach at the start of the race. It was my running coach who was messing with that guy and his huge calves! Those things were ENORMOUS!!!! Like freakishly huge!! HAHAHAHA! That is such a coincidence!

  2. Yep!! We’ll be there. I’m running my FIRST FULL in Baltimore this year! My sister is running her first full there with me!

    I’m not sure where you live, but we have a little running group that gets together on Sunday at 9AM at Centennial Park in Columbia. My running coach is awesome (he’s also one of my best friends), and the group and advice is free! =)

  3. That’s awesome, hope to see you guys there 🙂 I am in Laurel, which is about 20 minutes from Centennial Park. I run there a lot, maybe I’ll run (haha I couldn’t resist) into you guys one of these days.

Leave a Reply

