My new toy Nikon D60

My trusty Nikon S3 point and shoot camera died a few months ago. I realized that itwas in my pocket a few seconds after I jumped into the jacuzzi. By then it was too late, the damage was done 😦 That’s what I do, I have a tendency to either lose or destroy small electronic toys, my poor ipod shuffle is still MIA. I have no idea where it is.  Its my cross to bear, but enough about my clumsiness.

Ever since my S3 died I’ve been researching cameras and decided to move up and shell out for a DSLR camera.  After researching the styles of photography I want to pursue and the monetary constraints I’ve decided to go with a Nikon D60. I especially like the small size of the D60, for a DSLR camera its rather compact. Granted its a very basic DSLR, I considered the D80 also but that’s out of my price range.  Since I am only pursuing photography as a hobby I don’t see myself spending too much on extra lenses even though I’ve read that “lense lust” is a condition that all new DSLR owners succumb to sooner or later.

There’s so much I’ve to learn, I’ve been reading up on the subject as much as I can. Although it seems that the only way I’ll improve as a photographer is to just go out there and shoot shoot shoot. 

My baby

My baby! Look at that sexy beast RAWR!!

The kit I bought comes with 2 lenses, the Nikkor 18-55mm VR and 55-200mm VR. One of the main reason I wanted to step up to a DSLR was to explore the world of macro photography, since the kit lenses aren’t suited to the kind of photographs I want. I also invested in a macro lense, the nikkor 50mm f/1.8 The larger aperture will definitely make for great macro and portrait photos. 

 

Nikkor 50mm f/1.8

Nikkor 50mm f/1.8

Hopefully I’ll have some pictures to show off soon. Still trying to figure out Lightroom and shooting in manual mode.

Leave a Reply

