Summer is almost here

Old man winter had his last say a few weeks ago.  Over the past 2-3 months I had gradually gained some excess weight. Bears store fat to hibernate during the winter, so why not me ? Two weeks ago I finally got out of my winter hiatus and went to the gym again in an effort lose the extra weight and start training for the Frederick marathon in May.  My first goal was to be able to do 100 pushups. I started out at 50 and literally died on the 50th rep. 

I am proud to say that I am finally able to hit 100 pushups today.  I was definitely pushing it (<bad pun>) after 90 but managed to grunt out 10 more. Surprisingly I wasn’t really that tired. I felt so pumped that I went for 5 pullups.  Not satisfied I got on the treadmill and ran a back breaking  sweaty 5.7 miles. 

It sound like I am tooting my own horn but this really was a huge accomplishment for me. I was sooooooooo lazy during winter. Barely trained or did anything physical at all. The one thing that I did was eat and eat some more 🙂

Next , I need to work on my diet so I can lower my body fat percentage to the 10-15% range and be able to finally train hard to break the 4 hours marathon goal.

100 pushups is nothing really, Lu Di, a 6 year old chinese kid did 10,000, YEP 10,000 pushups in 3 hours and 20 minutes. Yea that’s him, looking all pump! Damn the boy got mad endurance.

 

10,000 pushups in 3:20 hours

10,000 pushups in 3:20 hours

Reading about him inspired me, I just might aim for 150 pushups next 🙂

Leave a Reply

