Installing iLife 2009 & iWork 2009 on Leopard 10.5.5

iLife 2009

iLife 2009

With the release of iLife & iWork 2009 Apple had made Leopard 10.5.6 a requirement to install both suite of applications. I’ve tried several times to update my system to 10.5.6 but failed I refuse to believe that this requirement is set in stone so I called Apple’s bluff and scoured the various forums for a solution to bypass this requirement.

I was not disappointed, the fix was rather simple. It involve editing 2 text lines in the SystemVersion.plist  file.  Mainly ProductUserVisibleVersion and ProductVersion.

1. SystemVersion.plist can be access by browsing to System/Library/CoreServices
2. Copy the file SystemVersion.plist to the desktop first
3. Open SystemVersion.plist from the desktop
4. Double click on the value field for ProductUserVisibleVersion and change it to 10.5.6
5. Double click on the value field for ProductVersion and also change it to 10.5.6
6. Save the changes
7. Copy SystemVersion.plist from the desktop back to System/Library/CoreServices and click yes on the prompt to replace the file.
8. Restart for the changes to take effect.

SystemVersion.plist

SystemVersion.plist

That’s it. You will now be able to install iLife & iWork 2009 🙂

11 thoughts on “Installing iLife 2009 & iWork 2009 on Leopard 10.5.5

  1. Nice post. Will try it tonight.
    I also used iAtkos 5.0i and everytime i upgrade to 10.5.6 it give me “Still waiting for root device” error. Hope ur method can fix and can run ilife and i work.
    Cheers ..

  2. i try to fix the “Still waiting for root device” error with ur suggestion post. But didnt succed and back to iAtkos 10.5.5. 😦
    Did u think install to external HD can solve the problem?

  3. Hey Hi, can you help me out

    This is really weird honestly

    Can you believe my iatkos 51 installation DOES NOT have the file:

    SystemVersion.plist

    I browsed: System/Library/CoreServices

    And it is not there, not even on search with Spotlight

    If you still are in 10.5.5 with the altered 10.5.6 SystemVersion.plist file

    Can you Email me the file? To test if it would work on my 10.5.5
    sendblink23@gmail.com

    Thanks, I’m just need it to install iLife 09 & iWork 09

  4. Help Please! I installed iLife 09 onto my G4 Powerbook by using this guide. It seemed to go smoothly, but now I can’t open any of the applications that it let me install. No iPhoto, GarageBand, iWeb, ect. When I click on the icons they just bounce up and down 3 or 4 times and then dock. What should I do? If I can’t get it to work, is there any way to reinstall the old iLife I was using. I think I’m using 10.4.11.

    • Clif,
      You are using mac os x tiger (10.4.x), In order to install you must be using mac os x leopard (10.5.x). and then you will be able to update to 10.5.7, and install iwork/ilife 09

  5. i have found that i could change my os version from 10.5.8 to 10.6 with my emac ppc without no changes in booting and ii can update in system update but its only for intell so bad idea i can also change the info file to make i work on 10.4.11 like this then change the main plistfile in the apps and change the the sys ver back and it woorks take that apple

Leave a Reply

