Biking is fun… really

60 Miles. Yea that’s what he said. The most any of us have rode our bike before is about 30 miles. Our legs were dead afterward, how on earth would we manage 60 ? But being boys we do not back down from challenges and made plans to conquer the great 60 miler. We set out on Saturday morning (9/20/2008) at 8:30AM from the Carderock’s Recreation area leading into the C&O Canal.

C&O Canal

C&O Canal

Yep that’s us. Minus me cause I was behind snapping pictures. That’s what I do, I bring along my camera and take pictures of random things that pique my interest.

Charlotte

Charlotte

Like Charlotte here. How did I came upon Charlotte ? Glad you ask. The route we planned was to start out from Carderock and ride for about 25 miles up to White’s Ferry then head into Leesburg and finally get on the Washington & Old Dominion trail to head back to Fairfax. I found Charlotte making a home on the ferry as we were crossing the river to get to Leesburg. She didn’t feel the need to communicate with me hence no message in the web.

White's Ferry

White's Ferry

I snapped this picture because I like to people to know where I’ve been. It make me seem cooler than I really am. I know what you’re thinking, Wow this guy have been to White’s Ferry, I would like to be his friend and join him on these awesome trips. Well, ok you convinced me, I will definitely hollar the next time we cook up some crazy awesome trips.

The Entrance

The Entrance

Confederate Flag

Confederate Flag

This turned out to be a really good picture and it feature a confederate flag so I had to post it. The South shall rise again.. err maybe not.

Once we got off the ferry we head out to route 15 to find out way to Leesburg.

Heading to Leesburg

Heading to Leesburg

The trees on the road provided us with much needed shade as we were a little tired after riding for about 2+ hours.

26.35 Miles

26.35 Miles

I looked at the newly installed computer for my bike and it seem we’ve been riding for a little over 26 miles. 

Leesburg

Leesburg

We finally made it to Leesburg in a little over 30 minutes later. I was treated to the sights of downtown Leesburg. Perhaps it was the combination of nice weather, weekend and the fact that we finally stopped to break I really like Leesburg. It seem like a great place to live in, the people were friendly and the town had a welcoming feel to it. 

We decided to have lunch in Leesburg and after riding around looking for a suitable place to eat we settled for German food. 

Currybratswert

Currybratswert

I ordered Currybratswert with fries, at least I think that’s what I ordered. It was delicious, the curry flavor was a nice touch. I devoured it in under 10 minutes. After taking some time to recover and let the food digest we head out to the Washington & Old Dominion trail to get back to Fairfax.

Heading out

Heading out

 We managed to ride for about 5 miles and were suddenly reminded of why 60 miles was a bad idea.

Washington & Old Dominion trail

Washington & Old Dominion trail

 Our legs were cramped up and every attempt to pedal forward were in vain. We stopped to stretch and refuel as we got a long way to go before reaching our destination. We were all writhing about on the grass ready to admit defeat and call in reinforcement, after about 15 minutes of downtown we decided to power through it. It only got worse from there on, we took 6 breaks from mile 35 to 55. Oh the pain, the agony, damn whoever suggested this trip. 60 miles my ASS. @#$@#$%@#

Finally we made it back at 4:45PM. 8 hours and 15 minutes later. We’ve done it.  Next time 75 miles… maybe. Wanna come ?

Leave a Reply

