The advantages of being young…

2 hours of sleep, 20 miles, 4 hours and 20 minutes later I still had energy for more. Its GREAT to be young and be able to pull off such reckless outings. The plan was to attend a friend’s housewarming party and leave by 11pm, I’d get home by 12AM and sleep for 5.5 hours then get up at 5:30AM to go run my scheduled 20 milers. Well things didn’t go quite as planned, instead of complaining I made adjustments and enjoy my time with the company I was around. The poker game lasted until 2AM and afterward we went out to a 24 hour Korean BBQ restaurant. The food was great, I devoured every bit of it. I made it home by 3:50AM and finally crashed on my bed at 4AM, the alarm rang at 5:30AM I kept hitting snooze and finally got up at 5:45AM, I rushed out the house at 6AM and made it to the capital crescent trail at 6:30AM for the schedule run with my training group.

We started at the capital crescent trail in Bethesda, ran through the national zoo and circle back on Rock Creek parkway to beach drive and finally back to the developing capital crescent trail. All in all, with about 6 water breaks we finished in 4 hours and 20 minutes. This was my first 20 miler and surprising I did quite well, the pain was there but its nothing more than minor aches. I finished strong and felt like I had enough fuel to go the extra 6.2 miles. We’re a little over 3 months into the training program and I am confident that I can make it through the training, we have a little under 3 months to go and only 2 more 20 milers in our schedule. To achieve my personal goal of finishing within 4 hours I am running 4 times a week, putting in at least 30 miles by myself and whatever we’re schedule to run on Sunday.

My new ambition is to complete a full on ironman triathlon, all 2.6 miles of swimming, 112 miles of biking and 26.2 miles of running. Even if I don’t make it, at least I aimed for the moon.

Leave a Reply

