Goodbye heartache

I never really wanted our friendship to fall apart
But its time for us to say goodbye
I can’t deny how much I’ll miss you and how much you mean to me
I will say otherwise, but you know better

I once asked what I meant to you
Secretly hoping that you’ve come to see me in a different light
But you’ve confirmed what I’ve feared all along
I am just another friend along the way

So for my own selfish reasons
I must learn to say goodbye
You will never know, how much you mean to me
How much it hurt to say goodbye

I realize you didn’t intentionally lead me on
But due to the nature of my sentimental heart
I  can no longer repress my misguided affections
To save myself from further heartache, I must learn to say goodbye

I’ll never know if I ever meant half as much as you are to me
It was foolish to open my heart to you
I can’t help but feel that way, so its time to say goodbye
Your heart can’t be sway, at least not by this foolish guy

The next time we meet, a simple acknowledging glance will suffice
No need for any superficial exchange of words
I already know what you have to say
And you, you will never change

Leave a Reply

